Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.1
Property location
8.8
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.8
Value
9.5

Reviews

    de

    Review score

    9.2
    17 September 2018
    Bun is just an amazing host and is an amazing guide, too. Enjoying home cooked dinner together with everybody. Playing football with the kids of Bun's school after a long day of sightseeing.
    Milisjka
    vn

    Review score

    9.2
    3 September 2018
    Friendly host. Great simple tasty food. Awesome disciplined well behaved children I really enjoyed my stay at Bunyong Honesty8.
    Rob
    gb

    Review score

    10
    10 August 2018

    A brilliant authentic experience with a very special family.

    Nothing.
    Bun is the real deal. So welcoming and friendly. His whole family are lovely and he does so much for his community such as the school. Being there for Maria's birthday was very special. His driver Lao was brilliant too. If you want to experience real Cambodian hospitality stay at the Bunyong homestay.
    Mariam
    es

    Review score

    9.6
    27 July 2018

    Lovely family & nice stay

    you need a tuk-tuk (10-15 min) if you want to go anywhere (city).
    I spent 4 nights at Bun’s house. Of course it’s not a hotel, but you have everything you need and more! You have air-con and fan in the room, mosquito net, hot water in the shower, breakfast, dinner and people to welcome you anytime you get back home after spending the day out. You can arrange a tuk-tuk to visit the temples anytime you need. And the airport is quite close,too. So if you want to experience living in a Cambodian family, and you want a welcoming, affordable, quiet and safe place to stay, Bun’s home is definitely the right place.
    Lela
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 June 2018
    Meaningful and memorable stay.
    Nicholas
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 June 2018

    Stay with Bun's family and you will never forget the experience!

    My week at Bun's homestay was simply wonderful. Beautiful room with a view, hot water, amazing local food cooked by his sister and mother, playing soccer with the local kids, I even got to help out teaching English in the little school Bun has attached to his house. A welcoming and heartwarming experience that I highly recommend!
    Michael
    us

    Review score

    10
    13 March 2018

    Do not miss this experience!

    The only thing I didn't like was that we didn't stay here all four nights of our stay in Siem Reap! (We had wanted a place in town as well as the homestay, which is 5km or so outside town.) As soon as we got to our new hotel -- which was great -- we really missed the vibe and fun at Mr. Bun's!
    Our two days with the charming Mr. Bun and his extended family was the highlight of our trip to SE Asia. I was a little worried about a homestay -- as we are a gay couple, I wasn't sure we'd be welcome -- but the tremendous warmth and hospitality and education we received made me SO happy we stayed here. Amidst the delicious communal meals, friendly neighbors, interesting conversation, and impromptu dance parties, we truly felt like part of the family for a few days. We sat in on a lesson in the free school that Mr. Bun runs for poor children in the area, and we were so impressed by the kids (and the clearly beloved teacher, Somphoas Kong) that we ended up donating computers so they could teach more children. Mr. Bun also hooked us up with an excellent tour guide for the Angkor temples, as well as a great tuk tuk driver neighbor, and took us to his favorite street food stand in Siem Reap. This man is not only offering an interesting perspective to travelers, but is clearly making a big difference in his community. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!
    Dominik
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    12 March 2018
    Best place to stay in Siem Reap. Bun is the perfect host. My friend please keep up your work for the comunity!
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    21 February 2018
    Nothing.
    We loved this place. Mr Bun is the world's greatest host. It is an absolute privilege to stay with him and his family, and to support his community. Avoid the madness that is Siem Reap; yes, this is a way out of town but enjoy real hospitality and let him and the indomitable tuk-tuk driver Mr Hi transport you to the wonderful sites. Make sure you know where the turn is when coning back from town. The puppies (8 weeks as seen) will grow up and Mr Bun's children will grow into amazing hosts for their country. Do enjoy the rat and snake if available (separately) as both are excellent
    Julie
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    31 December 2017

    Food for the soul and a little bit of hope in a crazy world !!!

    There was nothing I didn’t like.
    Bun welcomed us into his home along with his family. If you want to escape the crowds of tourists at the many hotels/ hostels in Siem Reap and experience the real authentic Cambodian hospitality, then stay here. Bun does not pretend to offer 5 star service with all the comforts that go with that. Even though he was able to arrange day trips/tours and English-speaking guides, he offers so much more...... He and his extended family do possess an open and warm heart that is sincere and true, qualities that are rare in this world and should be cherished.
    Nicky
    gb

    Review score

    10
    26 December 2017

    A magical experience, highly recommended.

    Only suggestion would be for the displaying of prices, for example beer in evening, tuk tuk rides etc....they are fairly priced I just would have liked to know what I was being charged as I went.
    Our first time in a homestay! It is a joyous experience highly recommend
    Janelle
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    15 December 2017
    This is a small home stay with four rooms opening onto a communal sitting area and deck. Breakfast is served in the outdoor covered area and dinner is eaten with the family. Guests are warmly welcomed into the community and looked after beautifully.
    Janet
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    13 August 2018
    The facilities were clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. It was my favorite place we stayed on our trip! Thank you so much, Bun!
    Our stay with Bun and his sweet family was the highlight of our trip. Bun was a great host and served as our guide through Angkor Wat. We learned not only about the history but he also shared wonderful life-lesson stories which my family enjoyed and appreciated. My husband and I were so touched by the songs the kids sung for us to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. We will always remember our visit to this lovely homestay.
    Brendan
    us

    Review score

    10
    21 July 2018

    Definitely coming back!

    Very quite location away from any busy roads, surrounded by green nature. I slept like a rock. Staff was incredibly attentive, hospitable and sweet!
    Saheli
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    23 May 2018

    You will love the place if you are a traveller and not a tourist

    Some may not find the location convenient as it is tucked away in a quiet, still developing part of the city. But it's only 3kms from the centre and there is always a tuk tuk handy. I enjoyed the location since it was very quiet, open and very green. Also do note that this is actually someone's home and not a hotel.
    Bun is a wonderful host taking care of all your needs and travels. Staying with the family was a unique experience. I never felt like an outsider. Can't think of a better way to truly appreciate the people and culture of a country I am visiting.
    William
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    7 April 2018

    Decent place if you're into something different and want to support the locals.

    Area was a bit distant from everything, but ok for us since we already had motorbikes. Nearby temple played music at all hours so was not as quiet as we might have expected.
    Our host was knowledgeable and friendly. We learned a bit about the local scene from a resident.
    Natalie
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    19 March 2018
    Bun and his family are amazing! We booked last minute and late at night, and Bun greeted us at the gate with a big welcoming smile. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was also nice. Bun hooked us up with his happy friend Buffalo, who took us around to the temples in his tuk tuk- it was a fun and relaxing way to explore Siem Reap. Very grateful to have found this home stay, and meet these people- THANK YOU!
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    13 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    10
    8 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rebecca
    us

    Review score

    10
    2 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews